top of page

SHE SELLS SEA SHELLS BY THE SEA SHORE

Without going in to too much detail, I've been setting up a swimwear line for longer than I would have hoped. As a result, I haven't bought a pair of bikinis, or any swimmers in that case, for a very long time. Recently though, I came across a little crochet clam shell bikini on Etsy and managed to justify to myself that I need another pair of togs. It didn't take much convincing and before I knew it, my order was processed and on it's way.

 
 

Island Mermaids was created in Bali, Indonesia and sells mermaid attire and tails. Peak their Instagram. I thought these clam shell crochet bikinis were too novel not to buy. If I'm honest, I had my doubts. I didn't think there would be any way that I wouldn't feel like a complete dick in them, but surprisingly enough I didn't. I'm sure someone who has boobs will have a different opinion of the bikinis,

but I found the shells sit a bit too far apart. Now, that may be due to my concave chest but that's the only concern I have about them.

Again, maybe those who hit puberty and grew boobs will have a different take but because the shells don't hug your boobs they fill with water when you're swimming. They don't hold the water though - it's perfect. It genuinely feels as though you're swimming in the same amount of clothes you were born with and don't have to worry about the uncomfortable heavy bikini top thats taking on water.

The bottoms are extremely comfortable and NOT SEE THROUGH! I was so surprised. I never buy crochet because I feel like you'd be able to see through it. Turns out you can't in these ones, even though they're white/cream.

Their shop has quite a few different bikinis. They incorporate shells also. I really love the colour pallets they've used, they're all reminiscent of the beach and island life. I really like the use of mesh too.

 
 

All in all a really cute creation that's a bit of fun. Life is way too short for boring bikinis. It's too short for boring sunglasses too. Head over to Bye Bye Bella and Glow Glam for some cool shades.

 


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page