top of page

KETO KUNG PAO CHICKEN

I'll just get straight to business. I've started my health kick which means more organisation in the kitchen - planning, prepping and pretending I'm eating pasta and pizza, really. I settled on a ketogenic version of Kung Pao Chicken, mostly because of ease. I either had the ingredients, or I needed the ingredients. I'm that two bird, one stone, killer.

The carb and protein content in this is probably a little bit higher than ideal for me, however I ease my stress by telling myself "we are in the transition stage". This meal is so easy and effortless which is probably why it's not the most tastebud tingling dish out, but don't let that put you off. It's still on point. It's also a great meal to prep for lunches as it keeps well. If anything the flavours infuse together more. Lay it on a bed of cauliflower rice for that stir fry feel or if you need a bit more substance to fill your appetite.

E.xx

 

Ingredients -

Chicken

  • 2 medium chicken thighs, or diced legs

  • 1 tsp. ground ginger

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • 1/4 cup almonds

  • 1/2 medium green pepper

  • 2 large spring onions

  • 4 red bird's eye chilis, de-seeded

I felt like more veggies, so I added some broccoli and zucchini. Avoid adding too many high carb veggies though. Also, this dish is a bit higher in protein than some need, be mindful of that. Both these things may effect your body's transition into ketosis.

The Sauce

  • 1 tbsp. soy sauce

  • 2 tsp. rice wine vinegar

  • 2 tbsp. fresh crushed garlic paste

  • 1 tbsp. reduced sugar tomato sauce (ketchup)

  • 2 tsp. sesame oil

Optional

  • 1/2 tsp. Maple Extract

  • 10 drops Liquid Stevia

I personally do not like the taste of stevia however if you need to sweeten the sauce by all means add the maple extract and stevia. I find a bit more tomato sauce and sesame oil sweetens it up enough, though.

Method -

  1. Dice chicken and season with salt, pepper, and ginger.

  2. Heat a pan over medium to high heat. Once hot, add chicken and cook until browned and excreting juice, approximately 10 minutes.

  3. Dice and prep vegetables and chilis. Set aside.

  4. Prepare sauce by combining all ingredients together and mixing well.

  5. Once the chicken is browned, stir and let cook for a few minutes more. Add vegetables, except zucchini, and peanuts to the pan and cook for 5 minutes.

  6. Add sauce and let it boil to reduce until its a thick, sticky consistency that glazes the chicken.

  7. Add zucchini an cook until just soft.

Original recipe sourced from Ruled Me. This makes a total of 3 servings.

Per serving (including maple extract and stevia, excluding broccoli and zucchini), it comes out to be approximately 362 Calories, 27.4g Fats, 3.2g Net Carbs, and 22.3g Protein.

 

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page